Sauerkrautpfanne and Mid Year’s resolutions

I can’t believe that my last blog post was in February. Where has the time gone? The tomato soup stains have dried by now and I’m still busy. Weather wise, things have changed a bit. It still rains, but we now see the sun more often and we can occasionally be seen to leave the house without an umbrella.

Why is it that other people are such prolific bloggers and I manage just about one post every four months? Uh, I know. It’s the way I work. Which goes a bit like this: I have an idea. Which I turn over in my head for a while until it feels right, then I let it rest. Then I perceive myself to be too busy with work or too tired or too busy with other things to pursue it further. Eventually I get it done – IF the idea I had back then is still worth writing up. If not, I drop it. Some really great blog posts never got written that way…

So I hereby decide to change my attitude and allow myself more time to develop ideas and write them down while they are still fresh. Bit like New Year’s resolutions, only mid-year. There. We’ll see how that works.

Last time I wrote about Bournemouth’s architecture. This time round I had initially planned to write about Bournemouth’s markets – or the lack thereof. There is definitely no market in the town centre. I’m sure, because I’m there nearly every day. The only thing that I have seen on the central square is a lone fruit and veg stall. But there are apparently a couple of farmers’ markets around and according to the official Bournemouth tourism website there’s a market in Boscombe every Thursday and Saturday throughout the year.

I thought it might be nice to take a little market round trip on one of the weekends I wasn’t going back home. Unfortunately, so far I spent every single weekend I stayed here in Bournemouth either working or ill or both, so I didn’t have anything to write about. But then this past weekend provided me with the chance to pick up on my previous theme – architecture – as well as to write about a market. Result!

Bodies in Urban SpacesTogether with about 60 other audience members I spent an hour on Saturday following a human sculpture trail trough Bournemouth.  “Bodies in Urban Spaces”, organised by Pavilion Dance South West, is the brainchild of Austrian choreographer Willi Dorner, who has been showing this production since 2007 all over the world.

His intention is to offer an alternative interpretation of urban architecture, to “point out the urban functional structure and to uncover the restricted movement possibilities and behaviour as well as rules and limitations.”

Das StraßenschildIt certainly offered an unusual, hour-long entertainment and some unexpected views of Bournemouth. The performers were drawn from the local community, as in any city where “Bodies in Urban Spaces” is being shown. They performed four times over the weekend and showed extraordinary strength and stamina. I’ll probably never look at an unassuming street sign in the same way…

After this very uplifting experience I decided to pop over to the international food market, part of a ten-day Food & Drink Festival. An “Authentic Pan and Grill” hut had caught my eye, as they were offering “authentic” German fare such as Schaschlik, Gulasch and Sauerkrautpfanne. Confidently I ordered the latter and was answered with a puzzled look and an “Excuse me?”.

Authentic German Pan and GrillAfter I had repeated my order loudly and clearly and thrown in a bit of English-sounding pronunciation I got my Sauerkrautpfanne – and very nice it was, too. Pronunciation is important. Earlier this year we hosted a performance with the German title “Erhebung”. It proved very hard to pronounce for my English colleagues, mostly because they placed the emphasis on the first syllable instead of the second, which made it sound more like “Ärebung”. Well, it isn’t easy. I, for example, never get the pronunciation of “Wordsworth” right. And did I mention my unsuccessful attempts at speaking with a Scottish accent (because I love listening to it)?

When I walked away with my food, the guy who had served me started a conversation with his colleague – in Polish.

An international food market indeed and a great day out. Only the fruit and veg stall remained shut.

Fruit and veg

Leave a Reply

